Earth and Planetary Sciences 2020 undergraduate awards and honors

Congratulations to this year's undergraduate award winners and honorees.

Joshua Waddell won this year's Ernest L. Ohle, Jr. Award. The Ohle Award is presented to the senior judged to have the greatest promise for a successful career in the earth or planetary sciences and who has demonstrated superior academic achievement. The prize is funded by endowed donation from Dr. Ernest L. Ohle, Jr., an alumnus who compiled a distinguished career as a mining geologist.

Miles Johnson won this year's Courtney Werner Memorial Prize. The Werner Prize is awarded to a senior student who has majored in Earth and Planetary Sciences and who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement. Courtney Werner was an associate professor in the Department Geology and Geological Engineering at Washington University. He joined the Department in 1923, having worked as a geologist for Gulf Oil Company. The prize is funded by endowed donations from his friends and former students.

The Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences also recognizes graduates with departmental distinctions, awarded for successful completion of undergraduate theses:
Anna Baker, Highest Distinction in Earth and Planetary Sciences
Hannah Bloom, High Distinction in Earth and Planetary Sciences

Congratulations to this year's honorees!